Hectic Tuesday

May 5, 2009 at 11:48 PM Leave a comment

So staying up till 3 a.m writing a Shakespeare play essay wasn’t so much of a good idea.

After missing a whole week of school due to Biotechnology research program, I have a ton of work to catch up.

The funny thing is, workload seems to increase the more I do, and right now it looks like the sky is the limit.

After a rushed morning (I woke up an hour and a half later than my usual wake time) of a furious shower, stuffing breakfast down, packing lunch, and a big cup of coffee, all I want to do know is to take a breath and relax.

Today is one of those rainy, cool, breezy spring days. As I was walking home from school, I had a thought that Otsu might be just what I might cook up for dinner for mom (and a steaming pasta dish for myself).

I first tried Otsu a couple weeks ago after digging out the recipe from Heidi Swanson’s 101 Cookbooks.

Personally, I’m not fond about the sour nature of this dish, but my mom is. Oh yes.

Even if I’m not a big fan of it, the taste of this dish is incredible. It’s so fresh and almost airy-perfect on a breezy spring day. The original recipe calls for grilled tofu, but I opted that out after my mom left it out on the first time I made it. I also added in some nori that I cut into thin strips. For garnish, I used more nori strips and toasted sesame seeds.

So as soon as I got home, I proceeded making Otsu. Since it’s a cold dish, I made that first and set it aside, moving on to my own dinner- Whole Wheat Linguine in Tomato Sauce. I sauteed half an onion.a few broccoli florets, half a stalk of celery,1/4 of a red bell pepper and two roughly chopped garlic cloves. Then I added 1/2 cup of pasta sauce and served it in 50g serving of whole wheat linguine. Yum.

dscf9651

dscf9645

dscf9662

Time to go back to reality- I have a psychology project, as well as a bio exam coming up. yikes!

Entry filed under: 1. Tags: , , , , , .

Diagnosed with PB&J addiction When exams are over…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Recent Comments

JENNIE JENNIE JEN JE… on When exams are over…
ssen on Diagnosed with PB&J a…
Celine on Vegan Sesame Cookies

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Archives

May 2009
M T W T F S S
     
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

